C25k – and we’re up and running!


So I started the C25K program again today. I find running very, very hard, and if I’m honest delayed as long as I could before I started again! A couple of friends are encouraging me and saying they will run with me, but I’m nervous about doing group runs until I can actually manage by myself.

I downloaded the NHS choices app, which I have to say is fantastic. You can have your own playlist on (I recommend http://www.clickmix.com wholeheartedly! Awesome gym friendly versions of songs that you can make into your own continuous mixes!) and it lowers the volume at the right time and gives prompts for when to run or walk.

I was pleased that I found it easier this time than when I tried before, but then I suppose that might not be a surprise given I have generally increased fitness.

Basically you do 3 runs a week over a 9 week period. Week one is 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds of brisk walking. Week 2 will be 90 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking, week 3 is 90 seconds running, 90 walking then 3 minutes running, 3 minutes walking. I’m slightly dreading week 3! By the end of the 9 weeks you’re meant to be able to run for 30 minutes none stop. The 9 weeks will take me to 23rd September, so 3 weeks short of my first proper running event.

Things to remember for my next run:
1)Hand held water bottle. This is a must as I was nearly dead by the end!
2)Towelling wrist bands. Nuff said!
3)Sun cream! Even at 7am the sun was stupidly hot and bright, and I don’t tan, I burn!

Leave a comment